Main Site Blog Help

10 Year China / Chinese Anniversary

Hello,

Today I was looking at some old posts on the site and found my old comment about a question about my Chinese name. This year is my ten year China anniversary and I thought it would be nice to share a little about my Chinese learning journey here.
I started learning Chinese using Chinesepod about 10 years ago around the end of 2007, moved to China Jan 2008, moved back to The Netherlands in 2011. Passed HSK 5, had a child in 2012, got diagnosed with breast cancer in 2014 and decided that THIS was the right time to start a master in Chinese studies (there might not be another time in the future). However, luckily I successfully finished my treatment in 2016, and graduated in 2017.
Now I’m finishing a master in Translation Studies to become a certified translator for Chinese English and Dutch, which I hopefully finish next year and can start working in the field I love!
I want to go back to studying for the HSK (6) but have difficulties to get started again : ) I hope there soon will be HSK 6 material here that might be helpful. Any ideas, tips and trick are welcome!

4 Likes

Wow, that certainly was not an easy path to travel. Congratulations on your successes and I am happy to hear your treatment went well.

I myself have never taken any HSK exam, but maybe I will also try to go for HSK6 next year, just for proving it to myself and in case I ever need it.

My plan is to use an online vocab list and then pick words that I don’t know to look it up for further study in Chinesepod’s database:

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply, I think this is very useful! : ) Good luck with your HSK 6 prep!

1 Like

Wow is right! Congratulations on your accomplishments and your 10 year anniversary with ChinesePod (and surviving the treatment and graduating with a masters)! Thank you for letting ChinesePod help you on this journey.

We are looking at HSK 6 material and will work on it now with you in mind!

Best!

2 Likes