Main Site Blog Help

Hello All! I'm Chinese who just started learning Chinese

大家好! 我是 Amy. I’m a 3rd generation of Chinese immigrant who doesn’t speak Chinese. I just started learning 6 weeks ago. I’ve lived in a few places around the world but currently live in London.

I decided to learn Mandarin Chinese because I started to find out, read and listen more about Chinese ancient history and culture and became interested in it in the last year or so. Also sometimes I feel a bit silly for being Chinese and not being able to speak the language.

I have been using Skritter and Hello Chinese apps everyday for the last 6 weeks to supplement my 2 hours a week Chinese classes and now adding Chinesepod to the mix. I listen to it when I walk to the station, then do half an hour of Skritter on the tube and about 15 mins of speaking exercises after work by mimicking dialogues from Chinesepod, recording myself then listen to the recording to try and spot my mistakes.

My short term goal is to be able to write and read around 300 characters by the end of the year (I’m at 195 characters at the moment) and read level one graded reader books by early next year (Anyone has any recommendation for good ones that use traditional characters?). My medium term goal is to hopefully be in a comfortable intermediate level in 2 years time and not to lose motivation before then!

I’m not confident enough to practice speaking with strangers even though I know it is very important. I had the same problem when I learned English but I feel it is much worse with Chinese as people often assume that I already speak the language. Luckily my mum speaks Mandarin fairly well even though we don’t live in the same country and I have an aunty in China so they will have to do as language partners for now.

Sorry for the lengthy intro. Hoping to interact with more of you in the future :smiley:

3 Likes

你好Amy,