Main Site Blog Help

Heyy everyone! 我叫 Sebastian

In fact, Sebastian is not my real name, but in the non-Asian language environment, I prefer to use this name :slight_smile: OK, this is my story.
My real name is Tran Viet Anh, translated as 陳越英, I was born in Thai Binh, Vietnam – a small city 100 km from the capital Hanoi. I’m 25 and I’m a programming student. I’m a naturalised citizen of the Czech Republic, but my core is still Vietnamese. Since I was 3 yo, I’ve been living in Prague, Czech Republic. My mother and I emigrated here to reunite with my father, who’s already lived and worked here for a while. So I consider myself to have 2 mother tongues – Czech and Vietnamese. Thanks to that, it has always been a bit easier for me to learn a foreign language, I’ve learnt English from school quite easily and wondered why it’s so hard for everybody else in the class.

Quite recently, 2 years ago, I’ve decided to learn Chinese, the so-called hardest language in the world, just for the heck of it and for fun. I chose an introductory class at Coursera.org and from then my enthusiasm haven’t faded at all. I spend a lot of my free time learning Chinese from various sources, especially Youtube and from googling. I’m fascinated by the beauty of the Chinese characters and since I prefer aesthetics over functionality, I’ve decided to learn the traditional script. And because there’s a plenty of learning materials in simplified but a scarcity of materials in traditional, I’ve come across @Fiona’s MandarinMadeEZ channel and just loved the way she teaches (especially the videos with her sister Iona, she’s supercute, funny and beautiful, say Hi to her for me :joy:). I’ve watched all of her videos there and felt so happy that I can learn Chinese with traditional characters comfortably, without searching the dictionary all the time to look up for them. I also like the LearnChineseNow channel, where Fiona was a host in one video here.