Main Site Blog Help

How many times to study a lesson

I’m new to Chinesepod, tested in at the newbie level as well, despite studying Chinese in college for 3 years. Woah is me.

I live in Shenzhen now and am driven to become conversational in Chinese.

I just finished listening to the series on How to Use Chinesepod which was very good for getting acclimated with the site. But, the one thing I didn’t hear on there was how many times is recommended to focus on 1 lesson.

Do you just listen to the lesson once and study the vocabulary on going?
Or, do you keep coming back to the lesson?
I guess basically I’m asking how do you know when you know the subject matter of the lesson.

Thanks for any suggestions.

-Luke

Peace Luke!

歡迎來到中文博客!-in my best chinese pod host impersanation 哈哈-

I personally don’t worry if I have fully learned a lesson or not and rather look at it in a broader sense of time spent with the language. The more exposure to the language the more and more things become clear. That being said, I just listen to them as they come out, the ones I find more interesting the more I go back to them. But have no rule for this, and I only really listen while commuting to and from places.

There are two people on YouTube I highly recommend to listen to and that is Steve Kaufmann and LaoShu505000. Steve Kaufman has the best language learning pedagogy I have ever come across and has made many videos expanding on this including a few in mandarin. Steve also had a app called LingQ which I recommend using in conjunction with chinese pod. LaoShu on the other hand will show you how to go out into the world and put what you have learned into practice in his many “level up” videos. LaoShu is cool because he approaches learning languages like a video game and his videos are entertaining.