Main Site Blog Help

How to make the most out of a language exchange partner?

Suggested Difficulty (Elementary etc): Intermediate to Upper Intermediate
Video or Audio: Audio but video is fine too.
Lesson Idea: Hi @Constance_Fang and Team,

I am an upper-intermediate Chinese student and I have a native speaker whom I practice my Chinese with. However, sometimes I have trouble figuring out what to discuss with her. Of course, I can ask her specific questions: How would you say this? Does this sentence sound okay? But that makes me feel like I’m having a very disjointed conversation. Sometimes I try chatting with her about what I have been doing since we last met, but I feel like I run out of things to say quickly. (Maybe I just need a more interesting life.)

How about a lesson in which two characters discuss how to make the most out of language exchange OR a 请问 about it?

Thanks and keep up the great work! I always love your lessons!

The first time you met a new language partner you have a lot to share. But after three or four times everybody have the same feeling : what to say? business as usual, nothing special.
The best way I have experimented with private lesson is to have a new subject for each lesson, it could be a text or a video, a picture from internet and you discuss on that topic.

There are some newspapers which issue each week a selection of photos (BBC news for instance) :

You can select some of these topics as basis for a discussion, and they are new each week.

Hello Bryan,

Just thought I’d throw my 2 cents in…