Main Site Blog Help

I can't be the only rock climber using this!

Hello! 我叫 Ryan (任头石). I just wanted to put out a general inquiry, as I can’t find any lessons on the website pertaining to rock climbing (攀岩). I’m an avid rock climber and hopefully will travel to Guilin/Yangshuo (桂林/阳朔) so as to climb in what is perhaps some of the most exotic rock in the world at some point in the nearish future. In preparation for this, and just for the ability to speak about my passion, I have been looking for a solid lesson/list/anything with vocabulary and phrases and the like of rock climbing terms. It’s a pretty niched thing, even in America, but I was able to find a very extensive list for the terms and such for Cantonese, but I have had no such luck for Mandarin. So, I guess this is me extending an invitation for any and everyone to contribute terms, phrases, or really anything pertaining to rock climbing in the Mandarin Chinese language. This is my first time posting to the forum so if I’m in the wrong category I apologize in advance. Thanks!

That’s a great idea Ryan, I only do indoor rock climbing but it would be good to know some rock climbing specific vocab. Perhaps we could ask @GwilymJames if its possible to have a section of the forum created where we can suggest future lesson topics.

@Fiona and I did our first bouldering lesson last week. Our hands were ripped and bloodied by then end of it, and our forearms were in agony for days. We’ll look at making a rock climbing lesson when we do that next batch of script writing.

@Constance_Fang

I created a category.