Main Site Blog Help

I have a studying crisis, please help!

I have been studying Mandarin Chinese for about 4 years now. When I started studying my junior year of college, I had the goal to become fluent in Chinese to live in China. I took the HSK 3 test and I was feeling on top of the world. Fast forward to today, and I haven’t been to China (met someone in the US and now I’m getting married…they don’t want to live in China). I took the HSK 4 test and now I’m studying for the HSK 5, but I’m starting to question “Why am I studying for the HSK anymore?” I’m not going to work or study in China so it’s not like the test matters anymore, but I feel if I don’t study for the test then I have no basis for which to base my Chinese level on. I still can’t make complex sentences correctly and I’m feeling very bad about myself while others studying are doing better than me and haven’t been studying as long as me. How do I go on from here? I haven’t lost my love of Chinese or the goal of being fluent, but now that I’m questioning the purpose of the HSK test in my life, and how I go about studying and what to study is in complete disarray. I’m sorry for the rambling but I’m spiraling out of control and I need advice to ground myself.

Hey,

I think you are right. We don’t need to pass the HSK exam before we can work or live in China. The reason I personally would choose HSK exam is the motivation to learn sth new. If I don’t, I feel like I could easily throw the book away when I am busy with something else. Then I wouldn’t even look at the book and play those videos on ChinesePod again. I totally understand your concern. You don’t need to pass the top level HSK exam but at least I reckon to pass the entry and intermediate level is sufficient and a good start. Then you can learn more from the daily conversation with Chinese people if you live in China. Coz in my opinion the fundamental of Chinese grammar is quite important to us. Happy to discuss.