Main Site Blog Help

I have some problems to translate Chinese sentence

Hello!
Now I am studying Chinese.
Then I have some problems to translate this sentence “那里没有水, 也没有电, 晚上只能用小油灯照个亮, 用水要到几里地以外的地方去挑。”
I think it means that " there is no any water and electricity, so they use only oil lamp in the evening and should carry land water from the other side."
I have not cleared the grammar above sentence.
Especially about “用水要到几里地以外的地方去挑”, I am not clear.
So please help me about this and share the correct translation and grammar.
Thanks.

Hi Juna!
Thanks for writing in with you question. I will break the sentence down in parts:
那里没有水 --> that place doesn’t have running water
也没有电 --> and also doesn’t have electricity
晚上只能用 --> at night time, you can only use
小油灯照个亮 --> a small oil lamp for illumination. This part has an interesting structure, X 个 X. Other examples of this that you may come across are 吃个饭,eat a quick meal 穿个衣服, pop to get dressed. The 个 comes in the middle of the verb and the object. The effect of this structure is to convey a more casual and quick tone to what you are saying.
用水要到 --> to use water (you) need to go to take note that here, 要 means need not want
几里地以外的地方 --> a place that is several kilometers away. Here, I think you are a little confused by the 地. In this phrase, the 地 is actually optional, but it is just emphasising that the several kilometers are being measured across land. The addition of 地 is used in mainland China, but is more rare in Taiwan. You can visualise this as XXX 的地方。The XXX is the description of the place。
到。。。去挑 --> go there to carry (the water back). 挑 is often used when talking about ancient times.
The 到。。。去 structure is very important to learn if you don’t know it already. You use it like this: 到 place 去 verb。 It means go somewhere to do something. Another example would be 到火车站去买票 go to the train station to buy tickets.