Main Site Blog Help

Learning Characters

I am a newbie am a little bit confused should I first learn the characters or learn to speak the language despite living in China for a year now and can’t speak well mandarin

Hi,
I can tell you that for me - learning to read was very helpful for learning how to speak.
Because learning the words (and this is important - not only characters, but WORDS) helped me to expand my vocabulary, and this is really important for speaking and understanding the language.
I can recommand you about a flashcard App I use - it’s called ZEN CHINESE, it’s free (but it’s only for iPhone). I’m using it every day, and it proved itself really helpful.
good luck!
Nirit

Learn both at the same time. Speaking is more important

I use memrise, started with the HSK 1, HSK 2, HSK 3 etc courses.

I agree with Che and Jumsao, but also differ in perspective a bit.

Learning to read will definitely advance your spoken language.

Yes, learn both at the same time.

I would even argue that LISTENING is more important than speaking, because if you say something to someone and don’t understand what they say back, whats the point?

Speaking is only more important if thats your goal, but speaking is a 2 way street.

My goal is to be able to read at a pace that is close to where my english is. So speaking is secondary… For me.

Also write. Write the damn characters if you want to know them well. Make them your friends.

我告訴你一件事。那麼多人有一個夢。他們說我要學外國的語言。我想要說話的流利。但是只是一個夢。夢的時候這是比較容易。夢的時候很美好理解的事。付諸實施的時候不同的故事。。。如果你住在中國你必須持之以恆的自學的。

My personal perspective as someone who went from knowing zero Chinese to ~HSK 4 in less than two years while staying part-time in China and working full-time. I’m no expert, but here was my approach: