Main Site Blog Help

Please help me get beyond ordering some beers =)

你们好,

I am a complete beginner based in Belgium and excited to learn some Chinese now. I went to China 3 years ago and was very impressed with the culture and language, but never took the time to study Chinese beyond:
你好
你好吗
谢谢
一瓶啤酒
我爱你

… So as you see, basic survival Mandarin !:tangerine:

I hope I’ll get some motivation here learning in a forum /with some real people rather than books so if anyone has some beginner tips I’m glad about any help.

Cheers from cold Belgium !:beers:
Niels

Hey, Niels, I think for the beginner, you may start from watching some dialogues on ChinesePod. :slight_smile: This is what I did at the beginning and it did work for me. Now I tend to watch some Chinese movie without looking at the English subtitles. :slight_smile:

Hi Niels, I totally agree with “957189120” said. I have studied Chinese for 5 years with Chinesepod, studied from newbie, step by step, now I am advanced level. I will give you my Chinese learning expeirence, first I learned Chinese “pin yin and tones” , that is the first step, also very very important, so choose a good teacher is important part, the teachers from Chinesepod is really good, they are native Chinese. second, tried to practice more syllable combination followed with the teacher, then you can say more and more vocabularies,that is the step one. step two , after you know more vacabularies, then you can learn the short sentences and Chinese grammar structures, too. after you did these, you will find Chinese is not difficult to learn, hope these can help you, good luck to you!

Dear Niels.

Welcome to ChinesePod and happy learning!

I think the tips given here are a good start for you and trying out some strategies of fellow students who have experience in learning Chinese is certainly a great way to get into it if you are unsure about where to start.

From a ChinesePod standpoint, I can give you a few lesson suggestions (I linked them):