Main Site Blog Help

Recommendation for great language school for short term courses

Dear ChinesePod crowd,

I am looking for recommendations for a great Chinese language school, that offers more flexible courses, e.g. 6 or 8 weeks, in either Taiwan or Mainland China.
The background is, that I am currently learning Chinese (in Europe) in parallel to my work, and that I will not have sufficient time to attend the full three month terms usually offered for example by the Mandarin Training Center in Taipei.
My level is I guess advanced beginners. I have been studying quite intensively with Skritter and ChinesePod for about one year (but in parallel to work unfortunately).

Any recommendations and experiences would be highly appreciated!

Cheers,
Jan

PS

I found this school in Taipei via google, which seems to offer more flexible courses. Can anyone recommend the school? It is called Taiwan Mandarin Institute.

http://www.tmichinese.com/

I studied on the immersion program for a few weeks at this school in Guilin and highly recommend it. The teachers could not have been more helpful, picking me up from the station, taking me shopping, showing me places to eat etc… it was an incredibly friendly community and i felt so welcomed. I also think it was one of the best value courses I found because my classes were all one on one - this does mean that you have to work hard (no staying quiet at the back of the class) but it also means that your classes can be tailored completely to your needs. The school was really fun, and you can learn a lot of chinese there, eating lunch with the staff, or playing table tennis and mahjong - there’s also lots of trips and activities such as karaoke, cooking or going for hotpot. But it’s still a school that’s serious about language learning. Everyone usually wants to go to Beijing or Shanghai but going somewhere where less people speak english is actually really beneficial for learning, even if the southern pronounciations can be a bit diffic